Wild food in fast food style

So, everyone in Poland is happy and starts long holiday weekend. Lucky you! First weekend of May is also time of gathering with friends, making bbq, drinking beer and just celebrate a holiday time.

I’ve got some idea for you, how to do very popular meal using products and ingridients which are not so obvious for this kind of food.

Some time ago my friend invited me for picnic. I was thinking what to prepare whithout any clu. Maybe hummus and veg sticks (option for lumps)? Or fresh nettle in tempura (not enough portions)? Wild garlic pesto and focaccia (not enough time)? The day before picnic was my second day before my two weeks detox, so I awoke and didn’t remember my name.  I went to the shop and grabed some random products. Maybe one wasn’t random. It was Persian Lavash bread, one of my favourite – large sheest of thin bread. I decided to make wraps. If you cannot find Lavash bread, use tortilla wraps.

Yes, I did wraps. But not typically with hummus and falafel or haloumi cheese. Just look.

wrap4


I used:

  • Green peas & lemon spread – I took 1 can of green peas, 1 galic clove, pinch of salt and squized 1 fresh lemon. I mixed everything in blender till smooth;
  • Mix leaf salad;
  • Stir fry asparagus – 1 bunch of tiny asparagus, cut off old ends, each stick cut into four pieces, put on hot pan with olive oil on with half of red chilli pepper, 1 chopped garlic and tamari souce. When asparagus was almost done, I put trimmed wild garlic on and fried few minutes more, stiring from time to time;
  • Portobello mushrooms – 2 mushrooms, cut into thick slices, put on tray with slush of soy sauce and olive oil, grilled in oven around half of hour in 180 C degrees;
  • Roasted jerusalem artichokes – cut into slices, put on tray with slush of olive oil, pinch of salt, fresh rosemary, 3 crushed garlic cloves in skin  and chopped half of red chilli pepper, baked in oven around 20 minutes in 180 degrees;
  • Homemade sundried tomato mayo – I mixed 1 portion of soy milk, 2 portions of oil (sunflower) in blender, when liquid became thicker I put 2 cloves of garlic pinch of salt, few drops of lemon juice and few diced sun dried tomatoes.

wrap3

When everything was done I spreaded green peas, then put mix leaf and other things, mayo on the end. I folded a bit bread on left and right sides and then rolled up. It’s good to grill wrap before cutting, but not too long. I’ ve prepeared two big, long wraps, so I cut them into approx. 5 cm slices. Voila!

wrap1

And then I realised than plans has been changed due to the wheather and we suppossed to make a grill, not picnic anymore. Fortunately, wraps  can be use as a meal or side dish, apetizers. And it’s up to you what will you put inside to make extraordinary dish, not just hackneyed 🙂

wrap2

And yes, this is a dish in The Gallery Cafe’s style, as I mentioned in that post 🙂

 

 


Leave a comment