What to eat on detox

Detox I’m doing now is quite particular. As I write before I can eat just vegs and some fruits from the list.

Vegs:

  • Root vegs: celeriac, parsnip, carrot, beet
  • Onion, garlic, spring onion
  • Gabage, Chinese leaves, lettuce (lot of kinds)
  • Celery, radish, cucumber, sweet/chilli pepper, ginger, tomato, pumpkin, butternut squash
  • Spinach, kale, chard,
  • Parsley, dill, chives and other fresh and dried herbs

Fruits:

  • Apple, lemon, grapefruit
  • Not so often, not too much and not too ripe: kiwi, blubbery, strawberry 

As you see there is plenty of food too eat, however after few weeks or even days everyone is up to here of eating almost the same food everyday. Defo I am. Usually in the middle of detox I dream about normal food especially about chocolate. That is why yesterday I baked rhubarb-apple crumble- I was hungry of different flavours and textures. Off course I couldn’t eat it, but I could smell 😉 and could give it to my family and friends

I know that there are people who can eat same things every day. Unfortunately I’m not this kind of person. I can say that after 3 weeks I’m little bit bored. Every single dish preparation looks very similar. No fats, no grains, no seeds, no flours. So usually in my bowl I welcome soups or stews. To be honest I’m too lazy to make juices so I eat fresh apples or grapefruits itself. Baking vegs doesn’t make sense without olive oil, more complicated meals don’t make sense because on that diet I eat a lot (what is cause by low nutritional level of vegs and fruits) so making food difficult to prepare is a nonsense. To sum up I have soups, stews, fresh vegs/fruits and juices. The easiest things. 

Therefore preparation of different food looks very similar. Just colour of this what is in my bowl makes a difference. And spices a bit.

Few inspirations

Soups:

  

Celeriac and radish leaves creamy soup

Ok, it’s not so creamy because of no oil in soup. However soup is very simple and pretty tasty, moreover gives a lot of energy. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion 
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 celeriac
  • 2 bunches of radish leaves
  • Salt, ground pepper
  • Bit of water 
  1. Peel off celeriac, garlic and onion and cut in cubes. Chop leaves.
  2. Put onion and garlic in pot and “fry”. Onion should change colour into white. If it sticks put spoon or two of water and stir. 
  3. When onion is ready put celeriac and stir again. 
  4. Put around 2 cups of water, tsp of salt, big pinch of ground pepper. 
  5. Cook until celeriac is tender. Put leaves and cook 1 min.
  6. Mix everything till smooth with handy blender. Season if needed.

Spinach creamy soup

  

Scheme is the same. Instead radish leaves use spinach: around 2 handfuls.

Beetroot creamy soup

  

Base is the same as above, but I used more celeriac, because other ingredient was beetroot leaven. Instead that thing you can use combination of beetroot and lemon juice. As seasoning: marjoram.

Mixed Vegetable soup

  

Last times my favourite one, especially when some vegs broth is left. You can use whatever vegs you like. But because I’m getting lazy about cooking now I also use some frozen vegs. Just pay attention that bag doesn’t contain any  of forbidden ingridients. Today I bought combo of young carrots, cauliflower and broccoli and it was perfect. I added some onion, garlic, celeriac (few slices into cubes), salt , ground pepper, chilli pepper and mixed herbs. Preparation time around 30 min. Yummy in my tummy 😉

Tomato creamy soup with roasted garlic

  

  • 2 onions (chopped)
  • half of fresh chilli pepper (dice)
  • 1 carrot (grated)
  • Tomato passata or chopped tomato in juice
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • Salt, ground pepper, dried/fresh basil
  1. “Fry” onion and chilli few mins in pot and then add carrot. Stir everything, put bit of water if needed
  2. When carrot will change colour add tomato juice and season. Boil.
  3. Heat up a pan and add unpeeled garlic cloves. Fry until Garlic will be tender.
  4. When garlic is ready peel it of and add into pot with soup. 
  5. Mix everything with handy blender till smooth. 

Leave a comment